Gyokko Ryû No Kamae


After my previous article I have been asked to show the various kamae for the three levels of the Gyokko ryû kosshi jutsu.

All kamae start from hira no kamae (the wider shizen no kamae of the Gyokko ryû) which is using a “mudra like” hand posture. No magic here only waza. Sorry.

From these 3 hira no kamae, you move into tenchi inyo no kamae and take one of the 3 end kamae: ichimonji, hichô, jûmonji.

Goykko Ryû 1st Level

.

.

The first level uses ten ryaku uchu gassho no kamae.

This is the ten ryaku no maki or jo ryaku no maki.

.

..

.


Gyoko ryû 2nd level

.

The second level uses fûten goshin gassho no kamae.

This is the chi ryaku no maki or chû ryaku no maki.

.

.

.

..


Gyokko Ryû 3rd level

.

The third level uses hanno banitsu no kamae.

This is the jin ryaku no maki or ge ryaku no maki.

.

.

.

.


Receiving posture

.

Tenchi inyo no kamae can be seen as an evolution of the previous ones and give easy access to the 3 “normal” kamae.

Remember that the Gyokko ryû kosshi jutsu is the source of Japanese budô and that these kamae are visible with minor modifications into the other ryûha.

Be happy!

Author: kumablog

I share here on a regular basis my thoughts about the Bujinkan martial arts, training in Japan and all over the world, and

6 thoughts on “Gyokko Ryû No Kamae”

  1. Awesome! Thanks for the pics. I really enjoyed yesterday’s insights and was thinking myself how great it would be to have photos of these Kamae. You are an invaluable resource for some of this stuff that is not expressed in books, or by some instructors.

    Like

  2. I am grateful for your knowledge and wisdom. I’m working on my own Ninpo way through my own studies of the ancient traditions so I’m trying to learn as much as possible. I’m sure this will help.

    Like

    1. You are right and wrong, as Tenchi Inyô no Kamae can be done at three levels (ten, chi, jin) depending on the situation (terrain, opponent, distance). Both arms are “connected” and the kamae is always balanced.
      AJC

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.